Skip to content

Backgrounds

How-to Guides

Technical References

Enterprise Authentication

Enterprise Authentication provides features such as user access management in the VIP Dashboard. This allows users with an Organization Admin role to control which users can access the VIP Dashboard and use VIP-CLI, as well as which applications they can see and work on.

User access management for the VIP Dashboard

Prerequisites

Only users with an Org role set to “Admin” can invite, remove, and manage user access levels for other users in the VIP Dashboard.

Adding new users to an organization and modifying the access settings for existing users is managed in the People panel located in the Organization view of the VIP Dashboard.

A list of existing users and their assigned Org level access permissions to the VIP Dashboard can be viewed within the “Platform Access” tab of the People panel.

User access management enables Org Admins to customize each user’s ability view, manage, or trigger actions on applications and environments in the VIP Dashboard.

More detailed definitions for Org level permission and roles and App level permission and roles are outlined in Roles & Permissions.

Access to an application’s GitHub repository is not required in order to have access to an organization’s VIP Dashboard.

Setting Organization permissions

The settings panel for Organization permissions is accessed by using the “Invite User” process or the “Edit Permissions” process.

Select an Org role (Admin, Member, or Guest) to assign access permission levels to the new users. The “Member” Org role is selected by default. Access permissions for each Org role are outlined in more detail in Roles & Permissions.

Setting Application permissions

The settings panel for Application permissions is accessed by using the “Invite User” process or the “Edit Permissions” process.

If the “Guest” Org role is selected in the “Permissions” panel, an “Applications” field will appear below “Permissions“.

A user’s access level for viewing and interacting with individual applications within the VIP Dashboard is determined by the permission levels set by a user’s App role. The permissions for each App role are outlined in more detail in Roles & Permissions.

Screenshot of the Applications permissions dropdown

To set a user’s App role for each application:

  1. Select the label “No applications selected >” to view a list of all applications that belong to the organization.
  2. A user’s current App role setting is displayed in the label to the right of each listed application.
    Applications labeled “None” are not accessible to the user.
  3. Modify a user’s App role setting by clicking on the label and selecting either Read, Write, or Admin from the dropdown.
  4. Confirm the settings by selecting the “Set Permissions” button at the bottom right of the panel, or cancel the settings by selecting the “Back” button.

Invite new users

A screenshot of the “Invite Member” button available on the People panel of the VIP Dashboard

Invite new users to have access to an organization’s VIP Dashboard or VIP-CLI.

  1. Navigate to the Organization view of the VIP Dashboard and select the “People” panel option at the left.
  2. Access the “Invite Your Team” portal by selecting the “Invite Team” button located in the upper right.
  3. Add up to 10 email addresses for new team members who require access to the VIP Dashboard.
    Each email address must be added to a new line in the field.
  4. Assign the Organization Permissions that will apply to all users for this invitation in the “Permissions” section.
    The Org role for a user can be modified in the VIP Dashboard later by an Org admin if needed.
  5. If the “Guest” Org role is selected for the user, an “Applications” field will appear below “Permissions“.
    Assign the Application Permissions that will apply to all users for this invitation in the “Applications” section.
    The App role for a user can be modified on a per-application basis in the VIP Dashboard later by an Org admin if needed.
  6. Select the “Send Invite” button at the bottom right of the “Invite Your Team” panel.

Invited users will receive email invites from VIP with instructions for logging in to the VIP Dashboard.

Invitations are valid for 14 days.

Edit Permissions for a user

Screenshot of the dropdown menu displaying “Edit Permissions” and “Remove User”
  1. Navigate to the Organization view of the VIP Dashboard and select the “People” panel option at the left.
  2. Locate the user from the list of users in the “Platform Access” tab.
  3. Click on the three dots (“···“) to the right of the user.
  4. Select “Edit Permissions” from the dropdown to access the settings for the user’s Organization Permissions and the Application permissions.
  5. Confirm the settings by selecting the “Save Permissions” button at the bottom right of the panel, or cancel the settings by selecting the “Back” button.

GitHub access permissions for users must be managed from within an application’s GitHub repository.

Remove User

  1. Navigate to the Organization view of the VIP Dashboard and select the “People” panel option at the left.
  2. Locate the user from the list of users in the “Platform Access” tab.
  3. Click on the three dots (“···“) to the right of the user.
  4. Select “Remove User” from the dropdown.
  5. Confirm the removal of the user by selecting the “Confirm” button, or cancel the removal by selecting the “Back” button.

Removing a user from the VIP Dashboard will not remove them from the application’s GitHub repository. The action of removing a user from an application’s GitHub repository must be performed from within the GitHub repository’s dashboard.

Authentication methods

Logging in to the VIP Dashboard requires multi-factor Enterprise Authentication.

To log in to the VIP Dashboard:

  1. Select “Continue with VIP Cloud“.
  2. Select either “Continue with GitHub” or “Continue with WordPress.com Connect” for the first step of authentication, and follow the prompts.
  3. Enter the one-time passcode generated by the user’s chosen authentication method into the field labeled “Enter the one-time code“.
  4. Select the “Continue” button.

Users have the option to set Enterprise Authentication to remember the browser for 30 days.

New user set up

A user must receive and accept an invitation before they can log in to the VIP Dashboard.

The first time a user logs into the VIP Dashboard with Enterprise Authentication they will be prompted to complete the “Secure Your Account” step by selecting an authentication method:

  • Google authenticator or similar: Scan the displayed QR code with an authenticator application (e.g., Authy or Google Authenticator) and follow the prompts.
  • SMS: Select the “Try another method” link at the bottom of the “Secure Your Account” screen. Select “SMS” on the next screen and follow the prompts.

Enter the one-time passcode generated by the chosen authentication method into the field labeled “Enter the one-time code“.

Last updated: November 19, 2021