Skip to content

Backgrounds

How-to Guides

Technical References

Manage user access

VIP encourages clients to manage their own user access to their WordPress sites and GitHub repositories. It is recommended to designate at least one primary administrator (two if possible, in case one of them is unavailable) who will be in charge of adding, removing, and managing users.

Primary administrators are empowered to add additional administrators as they see fit while following best practices.

Managing VIP Dashboard access

Enterprise Authentication is used to authenticate user access to the VIP Dashboard. A user’s ability to access and interact with areas of the VIP Dashboard is defined by the Roles & permissions set for the user by an Org admin.

Managing GitHub access

There is no limit to the number of GitHub users from an organization, development team, or agency that can access the repo. VIP can provide the initial nominated users with admin access to the repo, allowing user management or application integration.

A collaborator with admin privileges in your GitHub repository will be able to add or remove additional collaborators. Find instructions in GitHub’s Documentation. There are a few points to keep in mind when deciding on permissions for collaborators:

  • Please only add users with read or write permissions as required. Users who would need write access include those who will be committing code to the repository.
  • Admin collaborators can force push (which is blocked in VIP Go environments) after removing restrictions. If they do this, they should restore restrictions afterwards.
  • Please review the full description of every permission level in GitHub’s documentation.

Add a user to Zendesk

VIP uses the Zendesk ticketing system to provide support to customers. To invite a user to Zendesk, cc them on an existing ticket and they will receive an invitation via email.

Add a user to a WordPress site

Administrators are able to add users to their WordPress site through wp-admin (also known as the WordPress Dashboard). Add users to a site using the default WordPress user roles, or customized roles unique to a business’s needs:

  1. Log into the VIP Go site to access wp-admin.
  2. From the sidebar, click on Users.
  3. Next, click the Add New button to add a new user to the site.
  4. Fill out the form and select the role that the user should be assigned.
  5. Check the Send User Notification option in order for the user to receive an email with a password-set link.
    • If this option is not selected, the user will need to access the login URL (example.com/wp-admin) and use the password reset feature to generate a password.
  6. Select Add User.

Add a user to a WordPress multisite

By default in a multisite, user management is done at the network (top) level. If the Add new user setting in the My Sites > Network Admin > Settings dashboard is not enabled, only a Super Admin can add new users to the network. Once users are added at the network level, Administrators for individual subsites can then add any of the existing users as needed.

  1. Log into the VIP Go multisite to access wp-admin.
  2. In the admin bar, at the top, hover over My Sites > Network Admin > Users and select Users.
  1. Select the Add New button to add a new user to the network.
  2. Add a unique Username for the new user, and enter their Email address.
  3. Select Add User, and a password reset link will be sent to the user via email by default.

Grant Super Admin privileges to a user on a WordPress multisite

Only an existing Super Admin can grant Super Admin privileges to another user.

  1. Locate the user in the Users list within the Network Admin
  2. Hover over the user to reveal and select the Edit link.
  3. Toggle the option labeled “Grant this user super admin privileges for the Network“.
  4. Select Update User at the bottom of the page to save the settings.

This grants the user with Super Admin privileges for the entire multisite.

Note

To delete a user with Super Admin privileges from the network, their Super Admin privileges must be removed first. To do that, go into the user’s profile, unselect the Super Admin privileges option, and then update.

Last updated: November 17, 2021